its a gift

“The condition of life was that we not seek it as a possession, but receive it as a gift.”  — Rubem Alves


Life is a gift. This is not the first thought that came to mind this morning as I woke up after my four short hours of sleep only to realize that I had slept through my alarm and was already fifteen minutes late to work.  After a rushed morning, I made it to work. For a couple months now I have read the daily lectionary when I get to work each morning, which consists of a morning psalm, an old testament passage, a new testament passage, a gospel passage, and an evening psalm. “I will extol you, my God and King, and bless your name forever and ever. Every day I will bless you, and praise your name forever and ever. Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; his greatness is unsearchable.” The stresses of the day begin to diminish. I am reminded to praise. New life has been given today, and tomorrow is not promised. New life has been given in this moment, revel in it. Live every moment of this day to the fullest for it has been given as a most precious gift.
Leave a Reply

